You are here

OLnet team

The following people have been involved in the OLnet project:

Project co-directors: Patrick McAndrew, The Open University and Candace Thille, Carnegie Mellon University

Members of OLnet team at a Cohere training workshopOther team members The Open University, UK

  • Andreia Inamorato Dos Santos, OLnet Research Associate
  • Ann Jones, Senior Lecturer
  • Anna De Liddo, OLnet Research Associate: Collective Intelligence Infrastructure
  • Anna Page, IET Client Relations Officer
  • Canan Blake, Research Fellow
  • Chris Pegler, Senior Lecturer
  • Doug Clow, Lecturer Interactive Media Development 
  • Elpida Makriyannis, OLnet Research Associate
  • Eileen Scanlon, Professor of Educational Technology
  • Freda Wolfenden, Senior Lecturer, FELS
  • Gary Elliott-Cirigottis, Business Improvement and Programme Manager
  • Giota Alevizou, OLnet Research Associate
  • Grainne Conole, Professor of E-Learning
  • Janet Dyson, OLnet Project Co-ordinator
  • Karen Cropper, OLnet Project & Liaison Manager
  • Kasia Kozinska, Research Student (Charter studentship)
  • Liam Green-Hughes, Web Developer
  • Michelle Bachler, Web Developer: Collective Intelligence Infrastructure
  • Natalie Eggleston, OLnet Project Co-ordinator
  • Nick Freear, Application Programmer/web Developer
  • Patrina Law, IET Senior Learning & Teaching Development Manager 
  • Rob Farrow, OLnet Research Communication Officer
  • Sara Crowe, Project Support Manager 
  • Simon Buckingham Shum, Senior Lecturer In Knowledge Media 
  • Tina Wilson, OLnet Research Fellow
  • Will Woods,  Senior Learning and Teaching Technologies Manager, IET

Other Team Members, Carnegie Mellon University, USA

  • Renée Fisher, Course Developer and Assistant Project Manager, Open Learning Initiative at Carnegie Mellon University
  • Jim Greeno, Visiting Professor, School of Education, University of Pittsburgh, USA
  • John Rinderle, OLI Senior Software Engineer, CMU, USA
  • Marlene Scardamalia, Presidents' Chair in Education & Knowledge Technologies at OISE/University of Toronto; Co-founder and Director of IKIT--the Institute for Knowledge Innovation and Technology (
  • Joel Smith, Vice Provost and Chief Information Officer, CMU, USA
  • Chris Teplovs, University of Toronto, Canada

OLnet Fellows (for more detail see OLnet Fellows Page)

  • Ágnes Sándor, Xerox Research Centre Europe, France
  • Anuradha Gungadeen, Mauritius Institute of Education, Mauritius
  • Cathy Casserly, Carnegie Foundation, USA
  • Charles Severance, University of Michigan, USA
  • David Wiley, Brigham Young University, USA
  • Dele Yaya, National Teachers Institute, Nigeria
  • Doris Kaije, Kyambogo University, Uganda
  • Elsebeth Sorensen, Aarhus University, Denmark
  • Engin Kursun, Middle East Technical University, Turkey
  • Fred Keraro, Egerton University, Kenya
  • George Siemens, Complexive Systems Inc, Canada
  • Helen Jelfs, University of Bristol, UK
  • Jenny Preece, University of Maryland, USA
  • José Luis Fernández Vindel, Universidad Nacional de Educacin a Distancia (UNED), Spain
  • Juliana Bbuye, Makerere University, Uganda
  • Marcela Maina, Universitat Oberta de Catalunya, Spain
  • Markus Deimann, FernUniversität in Hagen, Germany
  • Murilo Matos Medonca, UNISUL - Universidade do Sul de Santa Catarina, Brazil
  • Pauline Ngimwa, The Open University, UK
  • Pritee Auckloo, Mauritius Institute of Education, Mauritius
  • Robyn Muldoon, University of New England, Australia
  • Sandhya Gunness, University of Mauritius, Mauritius
  • Sandra Wills, University of Wollongong, Australia
  • Scott Leslie, BCCampus, Canada
  • Susan D'Antoni, UNESCO, Canada
  • Svetlana Knyazeva, UNESCO Institute for Information Technologies, Russia
  • Yannis Dimitriadis, University of Valladolid, Spain
  • Yimin Jia, South China Normal University (SCNU), China

Website administration

Website administrators are currently: Karen Cropper, OLnet Liaison Manager, Anna Page, IET Client Relations Officer and Michelle Bachler, Web Developer.  Original set up of site and development up to the end of August 2010 was by Liam Green-Hughes, Web Developer and Nick Freear, Application Programmer/web Developer. Modifications to the site early 2012 by Michelle Bachler and Anna Page.